Skip to content

An Interview With | The Glass Child

One of the best discoveries I’ve made through Sounds Good has got to be The Glass Child. The project of Charlotte Eriksson originally blew my mind with the release of “White Spaces” and then did the exact same with new song “Black Rose”, which was reviewed on Monday. It’s been a pleasure to hold an interview with her. In this interview we talk about “White Spaces”, her beginnings, her productivity and her plans for her new EP This Silence Now. Enjoy!

Hey The Glass Child, What’s the story behind how you became The Glass Child? Where did the name come from? The Glass Child has been with me since I was very young, although it has collected a lot of meaning along the way. It reflects the will to be seen, to reach out with my music, but still not wanting anyone to come close enough. The fear of rejection but still the will to get yourself out there.

What can you tell us about your new single ‘White Spaces’? White Spaces is the first single I’m releasing this year, as an introduction to my new future album. While producing these new songs, I found that by stripping away a lot of the production, I found my way back to my core sound, what has always been essential in my music: my voice and my stories.

As well as this new single, you released an album last year on top of the two previous records within four years. How do you manage to stay so productive? I don’t really feel that productive! I think that’s just what happens when you love something this much. There’s nothing else I want to do with my days, so I’m spending every single minute of every day writing, producing, practicing, reading and just creating.

You mentioned previously that ‘White Spaces’ is the first taste of an upcoming EP. What can you tell us about this new EP? I’ve spent a year just writing and producing a lot, and I’m so proud of these new songs I’m going to release this year. I didn’t want to throw out a full album right away, because I want each song to get the attention I feel it deserves.

Once the EP is released, what do you plan to do for the rest of the year? I’m doing a seasonal EP project, where I’m releasing one new EP each season to eventually lead up to a new full-length album. I’m really excited about this!

What’s it like being The Glass Child? Is it awesome? I think it’s like being any other person in the world. Some days are beautiful, some days are hard. But it’s all a mindset, no matter what.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.